Best ways to Forget a Wireless Network on Mac

Whenever you join a Wi-Fi network on your Mac, it automatically connects the wireless network at the time you are in the range of that network. Sometimes, it is pretty irritating for most of the users who are using Wi-Fi networks. However, it is not that convenient as it looks. Forgetting the wireless network is necessary for the time when you take your Mac in some other place, you can locate a new network and connect them forcefully. However, it includes public Wi-Fi spots such as a local coffee shop, restaurants, railway station and it could be at a friend’s home or library. Well, it is the handiest way to join the public hotspot, but many times, it can be trouble for users when their Mac reconnects a network from which you don’t want to connect. Therefore, to prevent from this, it is better to permanently delete that networks which you don’t want to join again, and it is much safer from a security point of view. For example, if anyone wants to log in to your online banking, so you don’t want to do this via automatically joined public wireless networks or public hotspot.

Underneath are some troubleshooting steps which will guide in forgetting the wireless network or public hotspots network which you don’t want to connect from your Mac. The instructions are discussed below.

Steps to Forget a Wireless Network on Mac

Before starting the process, we suggest you follow the below mentioned steps in the correct sequence as these steps sometimes more tricky and much time-consuming and might be creating a hurdle for users. Well, forgetting or removing a Wi-Fi network is quite simple, when you know how to do it.  Here how to do it:

  1. Press the ‘Wi-Fi’ logo located on the ‘Finder’ bar at the top of the screen.
  2. After that, click on the ‘Open Network Preferences’ option appears on the Mac screen.
  3. Again, tap on the ‘Wi-Fi’ option located on the left-hand side of the screen.
  4. Next, press the ‘Advanced’ option.
  5. Now, scroll via the ‘Preferred Networks’ to look for the network which you want to delete from the Mac.
  6. Press the ‘Network’ option and then press the ‘Minus (-) tab permanently forget it.
  7. Once done, the network will be removed from the Mac. In case, if you want to delete any other network, repeat the same and delete as many networks as you want.
  8. Press the ‘OK’ tab to save all the changes which you recently have done.

Easily Reconnect a Forgotten Wi-Fi Network

After forgotten or deleted a Wi-Fi network or hotspots, your Mac won’t again connect that deleted Wi-Fi network. But one can reconnect it manually. For this, follow the below-given steps:

Once you are in the range of the Wi-Fi network from which you want to connect, then tap on the name of the network and type the passcode to get access of that network you wish to rejoin. After doing this, you will automatically connect the network every time you are in the range of it.

Bradon Wilson is a self-professed security expert; he has been making the people aware of the security threats. His passion is to write about Cyber security, cryptography, malware, social engineering, internet and new media. He writes for Norton security products at norton.com/setup.

Leave a Reply